Shop ’til you drop?

If there is one thing I don’t like doing, it’s grocery shopping.  It’s the arduous task of picking up the essentials for breakfast, lunch and dinner in order to make it through the week.  It’s not exciting, I often don’t stray from the norm, because when I do it results in a trip down the chip aisle.  Plus, I have to go first thing in the morning to avoid the crowds, because Crowds + Kelly = bad news.
My weekly trip to the Loblaws at South Keys includes a stroll down the produce aisles; a stop at the deli counter for low-fat turkey or ham; a stop at fish counter for the “freshest” catch; rye bread, yogourt, skim milk, low-fat cheese, canned tuna, frozen pizza (I love the PC Blue Menu Roasted Vegetable and Goat Cheese), and some household items. 
Boring right?  So how do we make it more exciting?  It requires research, planning, foresight.  Not easy when you’re both working 60+ hours/week, but we’ve made it a priority.  We’ve made it something we’re both interested in and passionate about.
So while I often don’t look forward to grocery shopping, it’s a lot easier when I have a new recipe in hand, and when I know I’ll be going home to cook it with my husband later that week. ~kM

4 responses to “Shop ’til you drop?

  1. Good for you! I also find grocery shopping a chore, and I also hate crowds. I find that getting a veggie delivery also helps us a lot, we have to make due with what we have, and when we do go to the grocery store, it’s only for specific things (also avoiding a stroll down the chip aisle!)… we’ll be blogging about it a bit more next week!

  2. I love grocery shopping with a list of course. I too can get side tracked by all the food around me. I love thinking of all the wonderful food I will eat all week. My favorite section is the produce section…I feel like a kid in a candy store staring at all the fresh organic produce that is until “farmers market season” and then the produce section is a distant memory! Great post Kel!

  3. I like to go grocery shopping with my roommate. We both eat different diets and we like to joke around. Roomy keeps telling me I am talking to loud so I try to keep it down. And yes we do pick up some ‘junk’. Sometimes ppl must think we are giddy teenagers but we are both almost 40 but it works to get through the ordeal :-).

Leave a Reply

