Sheldon Says: Spicy Turkey Meatloaf Kicks It Up A Notch

I have to admit, I’m not a big fan of turkey burgers, turkey meatballs, turkey meatloaf etc.  Ground turkey tends to be overly dry, tasteless and boring.  Kind of like a Pizza Pizza crust.  Did I mention I’m not a fan?
Last week, our local grocery store had some ground gobbler on sale, and since Mrs. Sheldon and I are trying to stay on a budget, we bought a pound.  The question was “what to do with it?”.   After searching some of my favourite foodie sites, I finally settled on a curried meatloaf variation.  I say variation because I didn’t really follow a recipe – just winged it based on some ingredient suggestions.  The result was spicy, flavourful and moist.  Served with some steamed carrots and brown rice, it made a tasty, healthy meal.   Much better than Pizza Pizza.  Hope you like it.

Ingredients:
1 lb. ground turkey
1 shallot, diced
1 small onion, diced
One red pepper, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 egg
½ cup bread crumbs
¼ cup of milk
2 tbsp. yellow curry powder
2 tbsp. garam masala
1 tsp. white pepper (more if you like it hotter – I used a tbsp.)

Mix all ingredients in a bowl.  Place mixture into a loaf pan and bake for 1 hour at 350⁰ C.~SS

Leave a Reply

